Should My Business Get an ISO Certification?

Obtaining an ISO certification means a business has all the requirements for standardisation and quality assurance. International Standards Organisation is an independent, non-governmental, international organisation that develops these standards.

Standards are designed to ensure the quality, safety, and efficiency of products, services, and systems. They can be applied to a number of businesses across industries.  ISO certifications are not just for big corporate businesses. They can be just as beneficial for small businesses as it is for large, sometimes even more so. The standards are designed to help businesses of all shapes and sizes.


Some of the benefits of obtaining ISO certification are as follows:

  • Improved Success with Tenders: Sometimes your business might be beat to a contract because a competitor is certified and you are not. Some organisations will not accept bids, or give their business to a company without ISO certification.
  • Indication of Responsibility: If you can show that you can achieve an ISO certificate, you can show that you are a professional company with a commitment to providing a quality service. This will help you get a competitive edge; even over larger firms.
  • Improved Customer Satisfaction: Happy customers are key to business success. An ISO management system can help build your customer satisfaction by improving how you run. With an ISO you will be able to identify and resolve customer relation issues quicker and more efficiently. You can also prove to potential customers that you are a consistent and reliable company by communicating your standard.
  • Increased Efficiency: Being efficient with your resources is an effective way of reducing wasted time, money and effort in your business. Running an ISO system can help manage your resources and identify aspects where savings can be made. This will help your business re-allocate resources to the parts of the business that need it most. 


What ISO Standards are Available?

Quality Standards include:

ISO 9001 – Quality management systems

ISO 9001 is the title an ISO standard that outlines the requirements an organisation must maintain in its quality system for certification to ISO 9001. There are several different certifications in the ISO 9000 group of standards, however ISO 9001 is the only standard in the series that requires certification. The standard addresses meeting the customers requirements for their product or service while fulfilling regulatory requirements.


ISO 13485 – Medical Devices

ISO 13485:2016 specifies requirements for a quality management system for organizations providing medical devices and related services. These products and services should consistently meet customer needs and regulatory requirements. ISO 13485 can also be used by suppliers or external parties that provide products in the medical industry.


AS 9100 – Aerospace

AS9100 is the international Quality Management System standard for the Aviation, Space and Defence (AS&D) industry. It was created by the IAQG.. The standard provides suppliers with necessary guidelines for creating and maintaining a quality system for supplying safe and reliable products to the industry.


Environmental Standards Include:


ISO 14001 – Environmental management systems

ISO 14001 is the international standard that specifies requirements for an effective environmental management system. It provides a framework that an organisation can follow. It is a voluntary standard that organisations can obtain certification for and can be integrated into other management systems standards, to further assist in accomplishing the organisation’s goals.


AS 5377 – E-waste

This standard was developed by the Australian Government Department of the Environment and the New Zealand Ministry of Environment to provide a uniform approach to assessing e-waste management systems. In Australia, it is known as AS 5377, which sets out the elements and minimum requirements for collecting, storage, transport and treatment of electronic equipment.


Safety Standards include:


ISO 45001– The New Standard in Safety

ISO 45001 is a standard that specifies requirements for an OHS management system. Its aim is to enable organisations to improve its OHS performance in preventing injury and illness. It is applicable to organisations regardless of size, type and industry.


AS 4801

AS 4801 is the Australian standard for safety management. It is the benchmark in assessing Occupational Health and Safety across management systems. The standard guides organisations to develop and implement policies and objectives that demonstrate your business’ knowledge and control over hazards and risks in the work environment. The internationally recognised standard is known as OHSAS 18001.


Many companies use an ISO consultant to help them implement a management system.  A consultant can help your business achieve or maintaining certification to an ISO standard. A management system consultant can be a very valuable addition to your business whether on a temporary contract to set your management system up, or longer-term to continue to evolve and audit your system. Like any partnership, it is an important decision to get right.

Leave a Reply

Close Menu